Interplay

Juha van Ingen, (Dis)integrator, 1992, 3:40 min, courtesy the artist


Take television. What happens? A string of electrons, sound and picture impulses are transmitted through wires into the air. The TV camera is the disintegrator.
Your set unscrambles or integrates the electrons back into pictures and sound.

- Yes, but this is different.

This short dialog sequence from a 1950s science fiction film (“The Fly” by Kurz Neumann) is repeated again and again in Juha van Ingen's short video clip until the image and sound finally dissolve into noise. What happens here? Van Ingen interprets the film quote, which describes the creation of image and sound on the television screen, backwards, so to speak: while the television set reassembles the individual scattered signals and electrons it receives into a coherent image with sound, van Ingen copies these images from one video cassette to another until they again dissolve into individual signals and electrons that are too vague for the device to decode in any meaningful way. An earlier version of this work was shown as part of the VIDEONALE.5 (1991) at the Bonner Kunstverein, at a time when the presentation of VHS tapes was still standard practice.

With his image experiment, van Ingen is representative of an early generation of video artists who artistically explored the nature of the video image in comparison to other forms of image production and perception. The comparison with the production of film images is certainly obvious, but comparisons with the creation of images in painting or photography are also quite virulent. What does an image consist of and how much information do we need to recognize it? In view of today's possibilities of digital image production, this question arises again in a completely different way.

Interplay

June 4-30, 2024 - Small Auditorium at Kunstmuseum Bonn

Juha van Ingen's video work thus forms the prelude to a reciprocal immersion in the archives and video art collections of Videonale and Kunstmuseum Bonn, which each house an extensive collection of both early and contemporary video art, until the opening of VIDEONALE.20.

Every two years since 2005, the Videonale − Festival for Video and Time-based Arts has presented an exhibition of international video art, accompanied by a diverse festival program, at the Kunstmuseum Bonn. From April 11 to May 18, 2025, the 20th Videonale will take place in the museum and at various locations in the city of Bonn; the festival is thus celebrating its 40th anniversary.

Over 300 video works from 40 years of festival events are permanently accessible in the Videonale online video archive: archive.videonale.org

All information about VIDEONALE.20 can be found at videonale.org

VIDEONALE.19 is supported by (as of June 2024)::
Preferred Logistics Partner:
Cooperation partner:
You are here: Videonale Association / Projects / Interplay

Wechselspiel

Juha van Ingen, (Dis)integrator, 1992, 3:40 min, courtesy the artist


Nehmen Sie das Fernsehen. Was passiert da? Eine Kette von Elektronen, Ton- und Bildimpulsen werden durch Drähte in die Luft übertragen. Die Fernsehkamera ist der Disintegrator.
Ihr Gerät entschlüsselt oder integriert die Elektronen wieder in Bild und Ton.

- Ja, aber das hier ist etwas anderes

Diese kurze Dialogsequenz aus einem Science-Fiction-Film der 1950er Jahre („The Fly“ von Kurz Neumann) wiederholt sich in Juha van Ingen kurzem Video-Clip wieder und wieder, bis sich Bild und Ton schließlich in Rauschen auflösen. Was passiert hier? Van Ingen interpretiert das Filmzitat, das die Entstehung von Bild und Ton auf dem Fernsehbildschirm beschreibt, sozusagen rückwärts: während das Fernsehgerät die einzelnen verstreuten Signale und Elektronen, die es empfängt, wieder zu einem zusammenhängenden Bild mit Ton zusammensetzt, kopiert van Ingen diese Bilder von einer Videokassette auf die andere so lange, bis sie sich wieder in einzelne Signale und Elektronen auflösen, die zu vage sind als dass das Gerät sie sinnvoll entschlüsseln könnte. Eine frühere Version dieser Arbeit wurde im Rahmen der VIDEONALE.5 (1991) im Bonner Kunstverein gezeigt, zu einer Zeit als die Präsentation von VHS-Kassetten noch Standard war.

Mit seinem Bildexperiment steht van Ingen stellvertretend für eine frühe Generation von Videokünstler:innen, die sich mit der Beschaffenheit des Videobildes im Vergleich zu anderen Formen der Bildproduktion- und wahrnehmung künstlerisch auseinandergesetzt haben. Naheliegend ist sicher der Vergleich mit der Produktion von Filmbildern, aber auch Vergleiche zur Entstehung von Bildern in der Malerei oder der Fotografie sind durchaus virulent. Woraus setzt sich ein Bild zusammen und wieviel Information bedarf es, dass wir es erkennen? Mit Blick auf die heutigen Möglichkeiten der digitalen Bildproduktion stellt sich diese Frage nochmal in ganz eigener Weise.

Wechselspiel

4. - 30. Juni 2024 - Kleines Auditorium im Kunstmuseum Bonn

Juha van Ingens Videoarbeit bildet damit den Auftakt eines wechselseitigen Eintauchens in die Archive bzw. die Videokunstsammlungen von Videonale und Kunstmuseum Bonn, die jeweils ein umfangreiches Konvolut sowohl früher als auch aktueller Videokunst beherbergen, bis zur Eröffnung der VIDEONALE.20.

Seit 2005 präsentiert die Videonale – Festival für Video und zeitbasierte Kunstformen alle zwei Jahre eine Ausstellung mit internationaler Videokunst, begleitet durch ein vielfältiges Festivalprogramm, im Kunstmuseum Bonn. Vom 11. April bis 18. Mai 2025 findet die 20. Videonale im Museum und an verschiedenen Orten in der Stadt Bonn statt; das Festival feiert damit sein 40-jähriges Jubiläum.

Im Online-Videoarchiv der Videonale sind über 300 Videowerke aus 40 Jahren Festivalgeschehen dauerhaft einsehbar: archive.videonale.org

Sie befinden sich hier: Videonale Verein / Projekte / Wechselspiel