VIDEONALE.scope #8

Scope#8
Untitled Sequence of Gaps by Vika Kirchenbauer / Courtesy the artist

VIDEONALE.scope #8

Postponed: Due to the restrictions imposed by the Covid-19 containment measures, which will take effect on November 2, 2020, we are unfortunately unable to hold the VIDEONALE.scope#8 event in November as planned. Alternative date: 6/10-12/2021!

A film series by Videonale Bonn
Curated by Katrin Mundt
at Filmforum NRW & Filmclub 813, Cologne

With contributions by Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Marwa Arsanios, Sadie Benning, Anouk De Clercq, Colectivo Los Ingrávidos, Eli Cortiñas, Thirza Cuthand, Kevin J. Everson, Scott Fitzpatrick, Dora García, General Idea, Karissa Hahn, Ayesha Hameed, Barbara Hammer, Stefan Hayn, Adam Shingwak Khalil & Zack Khalil, Vika Kirchenbauer, Kristin Lucas, Nour Ouayda, Adrian Paci, Sondra Perry, Doug Porter, Seth Price, Yvonne Rainer, James Richards, Emily Wardill, Gernot Wieland, Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa, Akram Zaatari, Katarina Zdjelar and Aaron Zeghers & Lewis Bennett.

This year’s edition of VIDEONALE.scope is dedicated to the body as a subject of filmic narrations and experiments. Works from the 1960s to the present will be presented that deal with the human body, its collective extensions and more-than-human coexistences.

We are increasingly experiencing our bodies as vague – as psychophysical structures that are being technologically and economically tapped in ever more far-reaching ways, that have to endure growing social and political tensions, but that also diversely proliferate, making a multitude of possible identities and constellations conceivable and real. How does this body behave toward itself and other bodies? What notions of desirable and undesirable bodies, but also of new alliances can emerge? How can bodies be mobilized as sites of collectivity, decentralization and resistance, as “anti-bodies” directed against their increasing control and commodification?

The heroic body experiments and narcissistic self-explorations of earlier generations of artists can hardly provide new insights in a present in which the body is experienced foremost as fragile and fluid. The selected films instead take the path of treating one’s own bodily experiences and those of others, their representability and political implications, in an observing, questioning and performative manner.

They create multiple, opaque, deceptive surfaces to make the legibility and exploitability of bodies more difficult, or they work with doubles and avatars navigating the gaps between individual and collective, history and the present, nature and technology. They probe the limits of sensory perception and corporeal memory and elucidate old and new strategies of their manipulation and control. They explore the intimacy of observation and touch and show how the care for living and dead bodies articulates the blind spots of groups and communities. Not least, they describe how marginalized bodies become a stake in the value cycle of artistic work and demand new forms of social representation.

VIDEONALE.scope is an annual film series of the Videonale Bonn at the interface of experimental film, video and performance art.

Regular information via our newsletter at www.videonale.org

Entrance fee
5 Euro / 3 Euro (reduced)
Combi ticket (2 Progams) = 8 Euro / 4 Euro (reduced)
Scope ticket (all screenings) = 24 Euro /12 Euro (reduced)

Videonale.scope is funded by:
Videonale.scope is funded by:
Videonale.scope is supported by:
In cooperation with:
Media partner:
You are here: Videonale Association / Projects / VIDEONALE.scope / Scope #8

VIDEONALE.scope #8

Scope#8
Untitled Sequence of Gaps by Vika Kirchenbauer / Courtesy the artist

VIDEONALE.scope #8

Verschoben: Auf Grund der ab dem 2.11.2020 geltenden Beschränkungen im Rahmen der Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung von Covid-19 können wir die Veranstaltung VIDEONALE.scope#8 im November leider nicht wie geplant durchführen. Nachholtermin: 10.-12.6.2021!

Eine Kurzfilmreihe der Videonale Bonn
Kuratiert von Katrin Mundt
Filmforum NRW & Filmclub 813, Köln

Mit Beiträgen von Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Marwa Arsanios, Sadie Benning, Anouk De Clercq, Colectivo Los Ingrávidos, Eli Cortiñas, Thirza Cuthand, Kevin J. Everson, Scott Fitzpatrick, Dora García, General Idea, Karissa Hahn, Ayesha Hameed, Barbara Hammer, Stefan Hayn, Adam Shingwak Khalil & Zack Khalil, Vika Kirchenbauer, Kristin Lucas, Nour Ouayda, Adrian Paci, Sondra Perry, Doug Porter, Seth Price, Yvonne Rainer, James Richards, Emily Wardill, Gernot Wieland, Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa, Akram Zaatari, Katarina Zdjelar und Aaron Zeghers & Lewis Bennett.

Die diesjährige Ausgabe von VIDEONALE.scope widmet sich dem Körper als Gegenstand filmischer Erzählungen und Experimente. Gezeigt werden Arbeiten von den 1960er Jahren bis heute, die sich mit dem menschlichen Körper, seinen kollektiven Erweiterungen und mehr-als-nur-menschlichen Koexistenzen auseinandersetzen.

Wir erfahren unsere Körper zunehmend als diffus – als psychophysische Gebilde, die immer weitreichender technologisch und ökonomisch erschlossen werden, die wachsenden sozialen und politischen Spannungen standhalten müssen, sich aber auch immer diverser verzweigen und dadurch eine Vielzahl möglicher Identitäten und Konstellationen denkbar und real werden lassen. Wie verhält sich dieser Körper zu sich und anderen Körpern? Welche Vorstellungen von erwünschten und unerwünschten Körpern, aber auch von neuen Allianzen können entstehen? Wie lassen sich Körper als Orte des Kollektiven, des Dezentrierten oder Widerständigen, als gegen ihre zunehmende Kontrolle und Kommodifizierung gerichtete „Anti-Körper“ mobilisieren?

Für eine Gegenwart, in der Körper vor allem als fragil und fluide erfahren werden, können die heroischen Körperexperimente und narzisstischen Selbsterkundungen früherer Künstlergenerationen kaum neue Einsichten liefern. Die ausgewählten Filme beschreiten denn auch eher den Weg eines beobachtenden, fragenden und performativen Umgangs mit eigenen und fremden Körpererfahrungen, ihrer Darstellbarkeit und politischen Tragweite.

Sie entwerfen stattdessen multiple, opake, täuschende Oberflächen, um die Les- und Verwertbarkeit von Körpern zu erschweren, oder arbeiten mit Doubles und Avataren, die die Lücken zwischen Individuellem und Kollektivem, Geschichte und Gegenwart, Natur und Technologie bespielen. Sie testen die Grenzen von Sinneswahrnehmung und Körpergedächtnis und beleuchten alte und neue Strategien ihrer Manipulation und Kontrolle. Sie erforschen die Intimität von Beobachtung und Berührung und zeigen, wie sich in der Sorge um lebende und tote Körper die blinden Flecken von Gruppen und Gemeinwesen artikulieren. Nicht zuletzt beschreiben sie, wie marginalisierte Körper zum Einsatz werden im Wertkreislauf künstlerischer Arbeit, und fordern neue Formen von gesellschaftlicher Repräsentation ein.

EINTRITT
5 Euro / 3 Euro (ermäßigt)
Kombiticket (2 Progamme) = 8 Euro/ 4 Euro (ermäßigt)
Scope-Ticket (alle Veranstaltungen) = 24 Euro/ 12 Euro (ermäßigt)

Sie befinden sich hier: Videonale Verein / Projekte / VIDEONALE.scope / Scope #8