VIDEONALE.scope #5

Scope #5
Kevin Jerome Everson, *IFO*, 2017

Retrospectives: Sharon Lockhart and Kevin Jerome Everson

In Filmclub 813 / Filmpalette / Temporary Gallery, Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst

A film series by Videonale Bonn
Curated by Katrin Mundt

The two artists who are honored in this year's edition of VIDEONALE.scope have more in common than their American origins. In their films, Sharon Lockhart (*1964 in Norwood, MA) and Kevin Jerome Everson (*1965 in Mansfield, OH) create portraits of our present day that bring together documentary, fictional and theatrical traditions in a formally independent way. They show us found places that become scenes in which real people act, who are always more than just "themselves". They work with staging and reenactment, creating stretches and condensations of time and playing with the materiality of image, sound and cinematic process to retell reality.

Sharon Lockhart
In her films, Sharon Lockhart proceeds from observations of found actions or scenes - children at play, farmers working in the fields, athletes training, an opera audience performing - and condenses them into cinematic everyday choreographies. They clearly echo the traditions of avant-garde and ethnographic film as well as postmodern dance. Through precise framing, the use of long, static shots, and subtle technical and dramaturgical interventions, she creates scenes that directly involve us as viewers inside, even if the places and actors are alien to us. Her works are characterized by a special temporality that turns the experience of seeing itself into an event, and a kind of stage-likeness that not only frames the visible, but also always brings the invisible and the excluded into play.

Kevin Jerome Everson
Kevin Jerome Everson's work revolves around the everyday life of the Afro-American working class in an idiosyncratic cinematic language in which documentary and experimental traditions are combined with influences from sculpture and painting. He creates portraits of people and places that, despite their proximity and intimacy, are always recognizable as a play with different forms of staging. His interest is not in the unfolding of a narrative, but in individual scenes - both found and orchestrated. The rhythms of the work, the aesthetics of routinely executed everyday gestures, the spaces and artefacts, ways of speaking and accents of his protagonists inside as well as not least the visible and invisible distortions in the everyday landscapes of America combine in Everson's films to form a visual atlas of communities in motion.

Videodocumentation VIDEONALE.scope #5

Program VIDEONALE.scope#5

Date
Title
Genre
Thu, 07.12.2017
19:30h

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Screening

Teatro Amazonas, USA 1999, 35mm, 38'

In front of us we see an audience that has gathered in the famous opera house of Manaus, Brazil. In a single shot about the length of the minimalist choral composition performed there by (for us) invisible vocalists, the auditorium transforms into a stage on which the anonymous audience gradually differentiates itself into individual protagonists.

Thu, 07.12.2017
20:30h

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Screening

Muhammad Ali speaks in front of television cameras about the future of his children; the eyewitness of a murder retrospectively describes the events; a basketball coach gives a flaming motivational speech in front of his players; a professor sums up the situation of blacks in America in front of colleagues: The films in this programme revolve around the question of how and where (inner and outer) attitudes are appropriated and passed on and how and where they can articulate themselves.

IFO, USA 2017, 16mm/digital, 10'
Eason, USA 2016, 16mm/digital, 15'
The Citizens, USA 2009, 16mm/digital, 6'
Sugarcoated Arsenic, Kevin Jerome Everson & Claudrena N. Harold, USA 2013, 16mm/digital, 21'
The Release, USA 2013, 16mm/digital, 5'
Ears, Nose and Throat, USA 2016, 16mm/digital, 11'

Followed by an artisttalk

Thu, 07.12.2017
22:00h

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhardt

Screening

Goshogaoka, USA 1998, 16mm, 64'

For several weeks, Lockhart observed the training routines of a female basketball team in Japan before, supported by choreographer Stephen Galloway, she condensed them into six ten-minute dance scenes in front of a static camera. The cinematic image frames the gym like a stage on which one's own and the other's can meet, mirror and reconfigure one another.

Fri, 08.12.2017
19:30h

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Screening

Six films about workers and work, which tell of the seriousness and concentration of repetitive practice and execution of gestures, of work as performance, which, enriched by experience, reveals not only increasing routine but also individuality.

American Motor Company, USA 2010, 16mm/digital, 10'
Sound That, USA 2014, 16mm/digital, 12'
Century, USA 2012, 16mm/digital, 6'
Fe26, USA 2014, 16mm/digital, 8'
Three Quarters, USA 2015, 16mm/digital, 7'
Company Line, USA 2009, 16mm/digital, 30'

Followed by a talk with the artist.

Fri, 08.12.2017
21:00h

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Screening

Stagings of bodies in front of the camera, from screen tests in the studio to space and movement studies at work and in play: Lockhart's first film Khalil, Shaun, A Woman under the Influence works in its three chapters through variants of the clinically objectifying gaze and its appropriations in popular cinematic genres. In a backyard in Lódz, Poland, the artist developed Podwórka, a film about the appropriation of a place, together with the protagonists, a group of children. Finally, in , the observation of two Japanese peasants not only brings into the picture the field they cultivate as a manipulated landscape, but also the film frame as a playable space.

Khalil, Shaun, A Woman under the Influence, USA 1994, 16mm, 15'
Podwórka, USA 2009, BluRay, 32'
NŌ, USA 2003, 16mm, 31'

Fri, 08.12.2017
22:30h

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Screening

The Island of St. Matthews, USA 2013, 16mm digital, 64'

A cinematic approach to the landscape of Columbus, Mississippi and the nearby Tombigbee River, which last burst its banks in 1973 and flooded vast stretches of land. The construction of a canal subsequently created the artificial island to which the film title alludes. In conversations with residents, observant sequences, recurring performative and sculptural motifs, Everson reconstructs the region in the south of the USA from which his family comes, but from which she has no material memories.

Sat, 09.12.2017
16:00h

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Screening

Quality Control, USA 2011, 16mm digital, 71'

Quality Control observes workers in a large laundry in Pritchard, Alabama, in seven long settings: the rhythm of the machines, the choreographies of the same operations while ironing, drying, changing clothes, customer conversations and pause chats. An anachronistic place where work still seems to be organized according to strict Taylor principles. Everson's motion studies, however, do not record the economic efficiency of work processes, but their aesthetic efficiency.

Sat, 09.12.2017
19:00h

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Workshoptalk Kevin Jerome Everson

Artist Talk

Kevin Jerome Everson talks about methods, materials and central aesthetic and thematic points of reference in his work with film. He explains references to his practice in other genres such as sculpture and photography and the positioning of his work between cinema and exhibition space.

Sat, 09.12.2017
21:30h

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Screening

Lunch Break, USA 2008, BluRay, 84'

The assembly hall of Bath Iron Works, a shipyard in Maine. The camera moves in a continuous movement along a narrow corridor, in which the individual workers or groups spend their lunch break. A film that is almost photography, capturing and liberating our gaze at the same time as the soundtrack unfolds in real time. The film thus remains in the balance between the real and the fictitious, standstill and movement. The infinitely stretching pause: utopian promise or swan song to a vanishing world of work?

Date
Time
Event
Location
Genre

Thu, 07.12.2017

19:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Teatro Amazonas, USA 1999, 35mm, 38'

In front of us we see an audience that has gathered in the famous opera house of Manaus, Brazil. In a single shot about the length of the minimalist choral composition performed there by (for us) invisible vocalists, the auditorium transforms into a stage on which the anonymous audience gradually differentiates itself into individual protagonists.

Screening

Thu, 07.12.2017

20:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Muhammad Ali speaks in front of television cameras about the future of his children; the eyewitness of a murder retrospectively describes the events; a basketball coach gives a flaming motivational speech in front of his players; a professor sums up the situation of blacks in America in front of colleagues: The films in this programme revolve around the question of how and where (inner and outer) attitudes are appropriated and passed on and how and where they can articulate themselves.

IFO, USA 2017, 16mm/digital, 10'
Eason, USA 2016, 16mm/digital, 15'
The Citizens, USA 2009, 16mm/digital, 6'
Sugarcoated Arsenic, Kevin Jerome Everson & Claudrena N. Harold, USA 2013, 16mm/digital, 21'
The Release, USA 2013, 16mm/digital, 5'
Ears, Nose and Throat, USA 2016, 16mm/digital, 11'

Followed by an artisttalk

Screening

Thu, 07.12.2017

22:00
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhardt

Goshogaoka, USA 1998, 16mm, 64'

For several weeks, Lockhart observed the training routines of a female basketball team in Japan before, supported by choreographer Stephen Galloway, she condensed them into six ten-minute dance scenes in front of a static camera. The cinematic image frames the gym like a stage on which one's own and the other's can meet, mirror and reconfigure one another.

Screening

Fri, 08.12.2017

19:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Six films about workers and work, which tell of the seriousness and concentration of repetitive practice and execution of gestures, of work as performance, which, enriched by experience, reveals not only increasing routine but also individuality.

American Motor Company, USA 2010, 16mm/digital, 10'
Sound That, USA 2014, 16mm/digital, 12'
Century, USA 2012, 16mm/digital, 6'
Fe26, USA 2014, 16mm/digital, 8'
Three Quarters, USA 2015, 16mm/digital, 7'
Company Line, USA 2009, 16mm/digital, 30'

Followed by a talk with the artist.

Screening

Fri, 08.12.2017

21:00
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Stagings of bodies in front of the camera, from screen tests in the studio to space and movement studies at work and in play: Lockhart's first film Khalil, Shaun, A Woman under the Influence works in its three chapters through variants of the clinically objectifying gaze and its appropriations in popular cinematic genres. In a backyard in Lódz, Poland, the artist developed Podwórka, a film about the appropriation of a place, together with the protagonists, a group of children. Finally, in , the observation of two Japanese peasants not only brings into the picture the field they cultivate as a manipulated landscape, but also the film frame as a playable space.

Khalil, Shaun, A Woman under the Influence, USA 1994, 16mm, 15'
Podwórka, USA 2009, BluRay, 32'
NŌ, USA 2003, 16mm, 31'

Screening

Fri, 08.12.2017

22:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

The Island of St. Matthews, USA 2013, 16mm digital, 64'

A cinematic approach to the landscape of Columbus, Mississippi and the nearby Tombigbee River, which last burst its banks in 1973 and flooded vast stretches of land. The construction of a canal subsequently created the artificial island to which the film title alludes. In conversations with residents, observant sequences, recurring performative and sculptural motifs, Everson reconstructs the region in the south of the USA from which his family comes, but from which she has no material memories.

Screening

Sat, 09.12.2017

16:00
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Quality Control, USA 2011, 16mm digital, 71'

Quality Control observes workers in a large laundry in Pritchard, Alabama, in seven long settings: the rhythm of the machines, the choreographies of the same operations while ironing, drying, changing clothes, customer conversations and pause chats. An anachronistic place where work still seems to be organized according to strict Taylor principles. Everson's motion studies, however, do not record the economic efficiency of work processes, but their aesthetic efficiency.

Screening

Sat, 09.12.2017

19:00
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Workshoptalk Kevin Jerome Everson

Kevin Jerome Everson talks about methods, materials and central aesthetic and thematic points of reference in his work with film. He explains references to his practice in other genres such as sculpture and photography and the positioning of his work between cinema and exhibition space.

Artist Talk

Sat, 09.12.2017

21:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Lunch Break, USA 2008, BluRay, 84'

The assembly hall of Bath Iron Works, a shipyard in Maine. The camera moves in a continuous movement along a narrow corridor, in which the individual workers or groups spend their lunch break. A film that is almost photography, capturing and liberating our gaze at the same time as the soundtrack unfolds in real time. The film thus remains in the balance between the real and the fictitious, standstill and movement. The infinitely stretching pause: utopian promise or swan song to a vanishing world of work?

Screening
You are here: Videonale Association / Projects / VIDEONALE.scope / Scope #5

VIDEONALE.scope #5

Scope #5
Kevin Jerome Everson, *IFO*, 2017

Retrospektiven: Sharon Lockhart und Kevin Jerome Everson

Im Filmclub 813 / Filmpalette / Temporary Gallery, Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst

Eine Kurzfilmreihe der Videonale Bonn
Kuratiert von Katrin Mundt

Die beiden Künstler*innen, die in der diesjährigen Ausgabe von VIDEONALE.scope gewürdigt werden, verbindet mehr als ihre US-amerikanische Herkunft. Sharon Lockhart (*1964 in Norwood, MA) und Kevin Jerome Everson (*1965 in Mansfield, OH) entwerfen in ihren Filmen Porträts unserer Gegenwart, die auf formal eigenständige Weise dokumentarische, fiktionale und theatrale Traditionen zusammenführen. Sie zeigen uns vorgefundene Orte, die zu Schauplätzen werden, an denen reale Personen agieren, die immer mehr sind als einfach nur "sie selbst". Sie arbeiten mit Inszenierung und Reenactment, erzeugen Dehnungen und Verdichtungen von Zeit und spielen mit der Materialität von Bild, Ton und filmischem Prozess, um Wirklichkeit neu zu erzählen.

Sharon Lockhart
Sharon Lockhart geht in ihren Filmen von Beobachtungen vorgefundener Handlungen oder Szenen aus – Kinder beim Spiel, Bauern bei der Feldarbeit, Sportlerinnen beim Training, ein Opernpublikum bei der Vorstellung – und verdichtet sie zu filmischen Alltagschoreografien. Ganz deutlich klingen in ihnen die Traditionen von Avantgarde- und ethnografischem Film sowie die des postmodernen Tanzes nach. Durch eine präzise Rahmung, die Verwendung langer, statischer Einstellungen und subtile technische und dramaturgische Eingriffe erzeugt sie Szenen, die uns als Betrachter*innen unmittelbar einbeziehen, auch wenn uns die Orte und Akteur*innen fremd sind. Ihre Werke zeichnen sich durch eine besondere Zeitlichkeit aus, die die Erfahrung des Sehens selbst zum Ereignis macht, und eine Art von Bühnenhaftigkeit, die nicht nur das Sichtbare rahmt, sondern auch das Unsichtbare und Ausgeschlossene immer mit ins Spiel bringt.

Kevin Jerome Everson
In einer eigenwilligen filmischen Sprache, in der sich dokumentarische und experimentelle Traditionen mit Einflüssen aus Skulptur und Malerei verbinden, umkreist Kevin Jerome Eversons Werk das Alltagsleben der afroamerikanischen Working Class. Er entwirft Porträts von Personen und Orten, die bei aller Nähe und Intimität der Betrachtung immer auch als ein Spiel mit unterschiedlichen Formen der Inszenierung erkennbar sind. Sein Interesse gilt dabei nicht der Entfaltung einer Erzählung, sondern einzelner Szenen – sowohl vorgefundener als auch orchestrierter. Die Rhythmen der Arbeit, die Ästhetik routiniert vollzogener Alltagsgesten, die Räume und Artefakte, Redeweisen und Akzente seiner Protagonist*innen sowie nicht zuletzt die sichtbaren und unsichtbaren Verwerfungen in den Alltagslandschaften Amerikas verbinden sich in Eversons Filmen zu einem Bildatlas von Gemeinschaften in Bewegung.

Videodokumentation Scope #5

Programm Scope #5 im Überblick

Datum
Titel
Genre
Do, 07.12.2017
19:30 Uhr

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Screening

Teatro Amazonas, USA 1999, 35mm, 38'

Vor uns sehen wir ein Publikum, das sich im berühmten Opernhaus von Manaus, Brasilien, versammelt hat. In einer einzigen Einstellung von etwa der Länge jener minimalistischen Chorkomposition, die dort von (für uns) unsichtbaren Vokalist*innen aufgeführt wird, verwandelt sich das Auditorium in eine Bühne, auf der sich das anonyme Publikum nach und nach zu individuellen Protagonist*innen ausdifferenziert.

Do, 07.12.2017
20:30 Uhr

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Screening

Muhammad Ali spricht vor Fernsehkameras über die Zukunft seiner Kinder; die Augenzeugin eines Mordes beschreibt rückblickend die Ereignisse; ein Basketballtrainer hält vor seinen Spielern eine flammende Motivationsrede; eine Professorin resümiert vor Kolleg*innen die Situation der Schwarzen in Amerika: Die Filme in diesem Programm kreisen um die Frage, wie und wo (innere und äußere) Haltungen angeeignet und weitergegeben werden und wie und wo sie sich artikulieren können.

IFO, USA 2017, 16mm/digital, 10'
Eason, USA 2016, 16mm/digital, 15'
The Citizens, USA 2009, 16mm/digital, 6'
Sugarcoated Arsenic, Kevin Jerome Everson & Claudrena N. Harold, USA 2013, 16mm/digital, 21'
The Release, USA 2013, 16mm/digital, 5'
Ears, Nose and Throat, USA 2016, 16mm/digital, 11'

Anschließend Gespräch mit dem Künstler.

Do, 07.12.2017
22:00 Uhr

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhardt

Screening

Goshogaoka, USA 1998, 16mm, 64'

Mehrere Wochen lang hat Lockhart die Trainingsroutinen eines weiblichen Basketballteams in Japan beobachtet, bevor sie sie, unterstützt durch den Choreographen Stephen Galloway, zu sechs zehnminütigen tänzerischen Szenen vor statischer Kamera verdichtete. Das filmische Bild rahmt die Turnhalle wie eine Bühne, auf der sich Eigenes und Fremdes begegnen, ineinander spiegeln und neu konfigurieren kann.

Fr, 08.12.2017
19:30 Uhr

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Screening

Sechs Filme über Arbeiter*innen und Arbeit, die von der Ernsthaftigkeit und Konzentration beim wiederholenden Einüben und Vollzug von Gesten erzählen, von Arbeit als Performance, die, durch Erfahrung angereichert, nicht nur zunehmende Routine sondern auch Eigenwilligkeit erkennen lässt.

American Motor Company, USA 2010, 16mm/digital, 10'
Sound That, USA 2014, 16mm/digital, 12'
Century, USA 2012, 16mm/digital, 6'
Fe26, USA 2014, 16mm/digital, 8'
Three Quarters, USA 2015, 16mm/digital, 7'
Company Line, USA 2009, 16mm/digital, 30'

Anschließend Gespräch mit dem Künstler.

Fr, 08.12.2017
21:00 Uhr

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Screening

Inszenierungen von Körpern vor der Kamera, von Screentests im Studio bis hin zu Raum- und Bewegungsstudien bei der Arbeit und im Spiel: Lockharts erster Film Khalil, Shaun, A Woman under the Influence arbeitet in seinen drei Kapiteln Spielarten des klinisch objektivierenden Blicks und seiner Aneignungen in populären filmischen Genres durch. In einem Hinterhof in Lódz, Polen, entwickelte die Künstlerin gemeinsam mit den Protagonistinnen, einer Gruppe Kinder, mit Podwórka einen Film über die Aneignung eines Orts. Die Beobachtung zweier japanischer Bauern schließlich rückt in NŌ* nicht nur das von ihnen bearbeitete Feld als manipulierte Landschaft, sondern auch den Filmkader als bespielbaren Raum ins Bild.

Khalil, Shaun, A Woman under the Influence, USA 1994, 16mm, 15'
Podwórka, USA 2009, BluRay, 32'
NŌ, USA 2003, 16mm, 31'

Fr, 08.12.2017
22:30 Uhr

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Screening

The Island of St. Matthews, USA 2013, 16mm digital, 64'

Eine filmische Annäherung an die Landschaft von Columbus, Mississippi und den nahegelegenen Tombigbee River, der zuletzt 1973 über die Ufer trat und weite Landstriche überschwemmte. Durch den Bau eines Kanals entstand in der Folge jene künstliche Insel, auf die der Filmtitel anspielt. In Gesprächen mit Bewohner*innen, beobachtenden Sequenzen, wiederkehrenden performativen und skulpturalen Motiven rekonstruiert Everson jene Region im Süden der USA, aus der seine Familie stammt, von der ihr aber keine materiellen Erinnerungen geblieben sind.

Sa, 09.12.2017
16:00 Uhr

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Screening

Quality Control, USA 2011, 16mm digital, 71'

Quality Control beobachtet in sieben langen Einstellungen Arbeiter*innen in einer Großwäscherei in Pritchard, Alabama: den Rhythmus der Maschinen, die Choreographien der immer gleichen Handgriffe beim Bügeln, Trocknen, Ändern der Bekleidung, die Kundengespräche und Pausenplaudereien. Ein anachronistisch wirkender Ort, an dem Arbeit noch nach streng tayloristischen Grundsätzen organisiert scheint. Eversons Bewegungsstudien verzeichnen indes nicht die ökonomische, sondern die ästhetische Effizienz der Arbeitsabläufe.

Sa, 09.12.2017
19:00 Uhr

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Werkstattgespräch Kevin Jerome Everson

Artist Talk

Kevin Jerome Everson spricht über Methoden, Materialien und zentrale ästhetische wie thematische Bezugspunkte seiner Arbeit mit Film. Er erläutert Bezüge zu seiner Praxis in anderen Genres wie Skulptur und Fotografie und die Positionierung seiner Arbeit zwischen Kino und Ausstellungsraum.

Sa, 09.12.2017
21:30 Uhr

VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Screening

Lunch Break, USA 2008, BluRay, 84'

Die Montagehalle der Bath Iron Works, einer Schiffswerft in Maine. Die Kamera bewegt sich in einer kontinuierlichen Bewegung einen engen Korridor entlang, in dem die Arbeiter*innen einzeln oder in Gruppen ihre Mittagspause verbringen. Ein Film, der fast Fotografie ist und unseren Blick zugleich fesselt und befreit, während sich der Soundtrack in Realzeit entfaltet. Der Film bleibt so in der Schwebe zwischen Realem und Fiktivem, Stillstand und Bewegung. Die unendlich sich dehnende Pause: utopisches Versprechen oder Abgesang auf eine verschwindende Arbeitswelt?

Datum
Zeit
Veranstaltung
Ort
Genre

Do, 07.12.2017

19:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Teatro Amazonas, USA 1999, 35mm, 38'

Vor uns sehen wir ein Publikum, das sich im berühmten Opernhaus von Manaus, Brasilien, versammelt hat. In einer einzigen Einstellung von etwa der Länge jener minimalistischen Chorkomposition, die dort von (für uns) unsichtbaren Vokalist*innen aufgeführt wird, verwandelt sich das Auditorium in eine Bühne, auf der sich das anonyme Publikum nach und nach zu individuellen Protagonist*innen ausdifferenziert.

Screening

Do, 07.12.2017

20:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Muhammad Ali spricht vor Fernsehkameras über die Zukunft seiner Kinder; die Augenzeugin eines Mordes beschreibt rückblickend die Ereignisse; ein Basketballtrainer hält vor seinen Spielern eine flammende Motivationsrede; eine Professorin resümiert vor Kolleg*innen die Situation der Schwarzen in Amerika: Die Filme in diesem Programm kreisen um die Frage, wie und wo (innere und äußere) Haltungen angeeignet und weitergegeben werden und wie und wo sie sich artikulieren können.

IFO, USA 2017, 16mm/digital, 10'
Eason, USA 2016, 16mm/digital, 15'
The Citizens, USA 2009, 16mm/digital, 6'
Sugarcoated Arsenic, Kevin Jerome Everson & Claudrena N. Harold, USA 2013, 16mm/digital, 21'
The Release, USA 2013, 16mm/digital, 5'
Ears, Nose and Throat, USA 2016, 16mm/digital, 11'

Anschließend Gespräch mit dem Künstler.

Screening

Do, 07.12.2017

22:00
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhardt

Goshogaoka, USA 1998, 16mm, 64'

Mehrere Wochen lang hat Lockhart die Trainingsroutinen eines weiblichen Basketballteams in Japan beobachtet, bevor sie sie, unterstützt durch den Choreographen Stephen Galloway, zu sechs zehnminütigen tänzerischen Szenen vor statischer Kamera verdichtete. Das filmische Bild rahmt die Turnhalle wie eine Bühne, auf der sich Eigenes und Fremdes begegnen, ineinander spiegeln und neu konfigurieren kann.

Screening

Fr, 08.12.2017

19:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Sechs Filme über Arbeiter*innen und Arbeit, die von der Ernsthaftigkeit und Konzentration beim wiederholenden Einüben und Vollzug von Gesten erzählen, von Arbeit als Performance, die, durch Erfahrung angereichert, nicht nur zunehmende Routine sondern auch Eigenwilligkeit erkennen lässt.

American Motor Company, USA 2010, 16mm/digital, 10'
Sound That, USA 2014, 16mm/digital, 12'
Century, USA 2012, 16mm/digital, 6'
Fe26, USA 2014, 16mm/digital, 8'
Three Quarters, USA 2015, 16mm/digital, 7'
Company Line, USA 2009, 16mm/digital, 30'

Anschließend Gespräch mit dem Künstler.

Screening

Fr, 08.12.2017

21:00
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Inszenierungen von Körpern vor der Kamera, von Screentests im Studio bis hin zu Raum- und Bewegungsstudien bei der Arbeit und im Spiel: Lockharts erster Film Khalil, Shaun, A Woman under the Influence arbeitet in seinen drei Kapiteln Spielarten des klinisch objektivierenden Blicks und seiner Aneignungen in populären filmischen Genres durch. In einem Hinterhof in Lódz, Polen, entwickelte die Künstlerin gemeinsam mit den Protagonistinnen, einer Gruppe Kinder, mit Podwórka einen Film über die Aneignung eines Orts. Die Beobachtung zweier japanischer Bauern schließlich rückt in NŌ* nicht nur das von ihnen bearbeitete Feld als manipulierte Landschaft, sondern auch den Filmkader als bespielbaren Raum ins Bild.

Khalil, Shaun, A Woman under the Influence, USA 1994, 16mm, 15'
Podwórka, USA 2009, BluRay, 32'
NŌ, USA 2003, 16mm, 31'

Screening

Fr, 08.12.2017

22:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

The Island of St. Matthews, USA 2013, 16mm digital, 64'

Eine filmische Annäherung an die Landschaft von Columbus, Mississippi und den nahegelegenen Tombigbee River, der zuletzt 1973 über die Ufer trat und weite Landstriche überschwemmte. Durch den Bau eines Kanals entstand in der Folge jene künstliche Insel, auf die der Filmtitel anspielt. In Gesprächen mit Bewohner*innen, beobachtenden Sequenzen, wiederkehrenden performativen und skulpturalen Motiven rekonstruiert Everson jene Region im Süden der USA, aus der seine Familie stammt, von der ihr aber keine materiellen Erinnerungen geblieben sind.

Screening

Sa, 09.12.2017

16:00
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Kevin Jerome Everson

Quality Control, USA 2011, 16mm digital, 71'

Quality Control beobachtet in sieben langen Einstellungen Arbeiter*innen in einer Großwäscherei in Pritchard, Alabama: den Rhythmus der Maschinen, die Choreographien der immer gleichen Handgriffe beim Bügeln, Trocknen, Ändern der Bekleidung, die Kundengespräche und Pausenplaudereien. Ein anachronistisch wirkender Ort, an dem Arbeit noch nach streng tayloristischen Grundsätzen organisiert scheint. Eversons Bewegungsstudien verzeichnen indes nicht die ökonomische, sondern die ästhetische Effizienz der Arbeitsabläufe.

Screening

Sa, 09.12.2017

19:00
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Werkstattgespräch Kevin Jerome Everson

Kevin Jerome Everson spricht über Methoden, Materialien und zentrale ästhetische wie thematische Bezugspunkte seiner Arbeit mit Film. Er erläutert Bezüge zu seiner Praxis in anderen Genres wie Skulptur und Fotografie und die Positionierung seiner Arbeit zwischen Kino und Ausstellungsraum.

Artist Talk

Sa, 09.12.2017

21:30
VIDEONALE.scope #5: Sharon Lockhart

Lunch Break, USA 2008, BluRay, 84'

Die Montagehalle der Bath Iron Works, einer Schiffswerft in Maine. Die Kamera bewegt sich in einer kontinuierlichen Bewegung einen engen Korridor entlang, in dem die Arbeiter*innen einzeln oder in Gruppen ihre Mittagspause verbringen. Ein Film, der fast Fotografie ist und unseren Blick zugleich fesselt und befreit, während sich der Soundtrack in Realzeit entfaltet. Der Film bleibt so in der Schwebe zwischen Realem und Fiktivem, Stillstand und Bewegung. Die unendlich sich dehnende Pause: utopisches Versprechen oder Abgesang auf eine verschwindende Arbeitswelt?

Screening
Sie befinden sich hier: Videonale Verein / Projekte / Videonale-scope / Scope #5